Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

MA GPA over undergrad?

kateoutdoorskateoutdoors Free Trial Member
in General 6 karma
Hi everyone,

I have an opinion question for people who may be in my position and already spoken to admissions teams about this topic.

I have an undergrad GPA of 2.8 from a state school-I did not take school very seriously and was working full time while going. Anyways, I graduated in 2011 and have since been to school again for a MA in education, with a GPA of 3.9. My PT LSAT scores are coming in around 158-165 depending on the day.
Does anyone have opinions on trying for T15 schools or going for a state school with a good local network? I have a small daughter as well so being somewhere cheaper/more scholarships would be helpful. Most T15 schools seem to have VERY high cost of living. Is anyone else relying on grad GPA for admission? Thanks!

Comments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27809 karma
    Unfortunately, all they care about is your UGPA since that's the only thing that counts towards their rankings.

However, you should definitely write an addendum to explain your UGPA which should, of course, include your MAGPA. They can't use that as your official, reported GPA; but it definitely shows that you've turned things around academically since your undergrad.
  • Accounts PlayableAccounts Playable Live Sage
    3107 karma
    I have an MS, so I'll give my input. It's true that only undergrad GPA (specifically LSAC calculated) matters for the rankings/medians, so every law school is going to care about those simply for that reason. Graduate GPAs tend to be pretty high, so law school admissions officers expect them to be. But, unfortunately, they are not calculated by the LSAC.