Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why we should not read questions first in RC?

strasvery-deletedstrasvery-deleted Free Trial Member
edited September 2016 in General 161 karma
When I studied for other tests, people suggest to read questions first.
Why we should not do the same for this test?
What makes this test different from others?
(Do you read questions first for other tests or not?)

Comments

• CalPoliSciCalPoliSci Member
    236 karma
    Because you will try to read for the questions instead of seeking out the bigger picture. You don't know what to look for exactly in the questions, so you may end up missing something during your read because you're intent on looking for something that's not necessarily required.

In other words, if you read the questions first, you are reading for the trees instead of the forest when you need a healthy dose of both.
  • AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited September 2016 23929 karma
    @strasvery said:
    Why we should not do the same for this test?
    What makes this test different from others?
    (Do you read questions first for other tests or not?)

Depends on the type of test. Generally when you read the questions first, it isn't for a specific RC test. For instance, when I took science classes in college, we often had a passage or something to read for the short answer part of the test, and I would read the questions first. Same with even history classes. So I do read the questions first when it isn't a RC specific test.

The reasons why I don't are:

1) It is very hard to successfully juggle 5-8 questions in your head and simultaneously go and read a passage and then remember what you have read.

2) A lot of the questions are kind of the same ... They'll ask for the main points of the passage and the authors attitude towards whatever the passage was written about. It just doesn't seem to be worth the time and trouble to do so.