Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Having serious doubts

RonaldReaganRonaldReagan Alum Member
in General 12 karma
So as my title says, I've been having serious doubts about Law School. I'm a senior at a state university have a very poor GPA at 2.8, but I was diagnosed with an inner ear condition that caused me to go partially deaf in my right ear and gave me intense and constant vertigo my sophomore year and I suffered immensely because of that. Now that the condition is under control for the most part, I started studying in the middle of the summer and my diagnostic was a 155, and I have been PTing in the low to mid 160's. I'm thinking about taking the February LSAT and take a gap year before I apply. But I just kind of broke down this past weekend mentally and physically. Is it realistic to go to Law School with my GPA, even if I manage to do well my senior year? Has anyone experienced anything similar or has any sort of advice? Maybe I'm just really burnt out or maybe I just needed to vent haha. Thanks!

Comments

• danielznelsondanielznelson Alum Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    4181 karma
    There are some people on 7Sage with GPAs at or below yours, yet were able to make it into great law schools, even T14 ones. Your diagnostic was several points higher than mine and many others. I and these many others have managed to increase by 20+ points.

I think the key for you is to do well this year to really back up what you write in your addendum regarding your GPA. You're in a great position in being anywhere in the 160s. Honestly, if you're planning on applying for 2018 (and NOT for this upcoming cycle), I would recommend you study consistently through the months to take in June. You'd still be among the earliest takers, would have an afternoon test, and would have several subsequent test dates for possible retakes.