Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

On the recommendation letter experience

dennisgerrarddennisgerrard Member
edited November 2016 in Law School Admissions 1644 karma
I‘m currently preparing for Feb LSAT and application materials. I need 2 letters( one from my advisor).

Do you think that I should require one from my current boss(I work as a part-time in an immigration firm) or ask one from my previous college professors?

Comments

• StopLawyingStopLawying Alum Member
    821 karma
    Academic ones are better. But try to get from all, can't hurt!
  • dennisgerrarddennisgerrard Member
    1644 karma
    thanks @stoplawying
  • nantesorkestarnantesorkestar Alum Member
    431 karma
    Ask Jurgen Klopp.

Just kidding, academic ones are best.
  • SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    11542 karma
    If you are able to get 2 good academic ones by all means do that. I wouldn't worry about getting one from employers.
  • dennisgerrarddennisgerrard Member
    1644 karma
    @nantesorkestar I assumes that you are an EPL fan as well.

@montaha.rizeq Could you explain a little?
  • AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma
    @dennisgerrard said:
    Do you think that I should require one from my current boss(I work as a part-time in an immigration firm) or ask one from my previous college professors?
    Law school admissions people prefer academic LOR over employment LOR because they speak more to your skills and achievements in an academic setting, which they feel are more accurate barometers of how you'll do in law school.
  • Stevie CStevie C Alum Member
    645 karma
    College professors tend to be pretty good writers. That could make a difference in terms of the quality of the letter. So I'd try professors first while keeping your boss in mind as another option.
  • David BusisDavid Busis Member Moderator
    7262 karma