Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Bio major life

Shireen Bhatia-1Shireen Bhatia-1 Alum Member
in General 261 karma
Hi guys,
So I'm a Biology major at Case Western who has been struggling in some of her more difficult courses. I'm in my third year and my cummulative stands at a 3.125. I know this is a bit low, but I've been studying pretty hard for all my courses, gotten the help I needed and done my best. I'm also studying pretty hard for the LSAT. I know that sometimes hardwork doesn't mean much to a Law school admissions counselor... But I have extra curriculars, a job in a lab, and am taking a Bachelors of Science in Bio along with a secondary major in Spanish at a difficult school.

Is it still possible to go to Law school?

Comments

• jknaufjknauf Alum Member
    1741 karma
    Absolutely! My GPA isn't much better then your current GPA. Although it's unlikely our applications would be considered at the top 1-8 schools, there is still plenty of other great schools to consider.

Law schools place more emphasis on the LSAT than GPA. This is not to say GPA is not important.

In order to get into the better schools we must do exceptionally well on the LSAT. We are known as something called 'splitters' in the law school admissions game. These are people whose GPA fall in the bottom 25% of average GPAs accepted, and whose LSAT scores are above the 75% mark. A general rule of thumb for splitters is if your GPA is in the 25% then your LSAT must be in the 75%.

Some schools are known to be splitter friendly, such as Northwestern, Georgetown, and occasionally Cornell. These are all top 14 law schools.

Are you from Ohio? Ohio state is around the top 30 with solid job placement after law school. Also, if you are from Ohio, Ohio state has excellent in state tuition! Something to look at! If you have any questions feel free to DM me.
    1741 karma