Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Negation Question

SeriousbirdSeriousbird Alum Member
I have an issue with the negation of this answer choice, if someone can help me--I would be most appreciative:

Most of the trade goods that came into western Mexico centuries ago were transported by boat.

Lsathacks says the negation is this:

Merely half of all trade that came into Western Mexico came by boat.

But, I think the negation should be this:

Between 0-50% of the trade goods that came into western Mexico centuries ago were not transported by boat.

Am I wrong in this thinking? Please help out!!

Comments

• Niner PapaNiner Papa Alum Member
    47 karma
    Take my explanation with little clout, since I am a novice.
    I think you are correct. Here's why. The negation of a statement is equivalent to the logical opposite. Since the word "some" in the LSAT world means at least one, possibly all, the logical opposite of at least one is: none. Since the word "most" in the LSAT world means something greater than 50%, possibly all, the logical opposite would be: something less than 50%, which would naturally include anything from 0-50%.
  • M.Yanka106M.Yanka106 Member
    113 karma
    I believe there is no need for the not here

Between 0-50% of the trade goods that came into western Mexico centuries ago were [not ]transported by boat.
  • SeriousbirdSeriousbird Alum Member
    1278 karma
    @M.Yanka106 so you mean it should say 0-50% of trade goods were transported by boat as opposed to 0-50% of trade goods were not transported by boat?

If so, why?
  • danielznelsondanielznelson Alum Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    4181 karma
    @sweetsecret said:
    Between 0-50% of the trade goods that came into western Mexico centuries ago were not transported by boat.
    I think you're negating twice, which is in effect potentially bringing it back to its normal state.