Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Poor undergrad GPA grad honors

wmogtaderwmogtader Free Trial Member

Hey guys I'm new to the forums and love all the content!
Here's the short of it. I graduated from Rutgers with a middling GPA I worked for a year after at a non-profit and graduated from Seton Hall with a dual masters in diplomacy and MBA in supply chain. I've worked for a year on the Hill during that time and now work for a logistics firm. I want to go into trade or corp law and am worried that my undergrad GPA will affect my admission to a top school even though I graduated with honors from Seton Hall. I do community service, speak German, and have some decent connections. Would I essentially need to get in the mid 170s + to get into a top tier school? Thanks for any feedback guys!

-Will

Comments

• stgl1230stgl1230 Member
    edited March 2017 821 karma

Hey there!

Not sure what "middling" GPA means, but if it's anything below a 3.6 I'd aim to score 170+ on the LSAT to be competitive at a T14. If you're at a 3.7 and up, you can definitely get into a lower T14 without hitting 170. I think that plenty of people get into lower T14s with like a 3.7/8 and a 168-9 - but I wouldn't count on any scholarship money.

While law schools see your entire academic transcript, unfortunately your undergrad GPA is the only grade that really matters, unless you are a non-traditional applicant. And I would say that the majority of law school applicants have decent connections, community service, and many speak another language and have worked on the Hill, so I don't think I would bank on those helping you get into law school. However, that being said, Hill experience + having an MBA will definitely help you get jobs once you become a lawyer. You just need to get into law school first, so definitely focus on the LSAT.