Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Easy Classes vs. High GPA

Hi,
I am graduating this May from Emory University and I am debating whether I should stay another semester to improve my GPA for a better chance at T14. I majored in Media Studies (Mass Communications) and will be graduating with 3.78 GPA. I understand that Media Studies is often easily judged as a "soft" and "easy" subject and I was wondering if such "bad reputation" will have an affect on how my GPA is viewed (and if so, how much of an impact it would have). If I do stay, I will be pursuing a sociology minor. I am torn between graduating now and focusing on LSATs to apply this cycle or postponing a year and applying with a stronger GPA and a major and minor. But is the latter choice worth the headache and extra tuition?

Any thought/advice would be extremely helpful! Thanks.

Comments

• Mellow_ZMellow_Z Alum Member
    1997 karma

It depends. What are your options? If you don't go back for a minor is there any compelling work experience you could get? If you had a job lined up, work experience might weigh more than a few hundreths of a point increase in GPA.

Also, what are your goal schools? Your GPA as it stands right now is at or above median at about half of the T13. Depending on which school you want to go to, you might be more inclined to try and raise the GPA up more.

To your advantage, your UG major doesn't mean much (if anything) to law schools. There is no asterisk next to GPA's that denote a harder or easier major. All the schools care about is having their 25/50/75 percentiles as high as possible.

Sorry for the jumble of info and questions I provided. There's just a lot that would influence your decision and they don't exactly flow together smoothly :smiley:

• Colin1485Colin1485 Member
    edited April 2017 108 karma