Reading Comp - timing

gioaragon95gioaragon95 Alum Member
edited May 2017 in Reading Comprehension 174 karma

Hey everyone, just wanted some insight.

So I have just started to tackle reading comp passages. I am curios to know for those that have increased their score and improved on this section how have you managed to decrease your time spent on reading the passage and answering the questions?

Did you just force yourself to push through the passage when timing yourself during practice or did the timing issue become less apparent with the more practice passages that you did.

I know that RC is the longest to see improvement but It would be helpful to know what people's experiences have been in this section.

Many thanks!

Comments

• Achen165Achen165 Member
    656 karma

Hey gioaragon95!

I found that RC required a lot less of my attention in terms of the LSAT sections once I understood some basic traits on perspective. I am new to 7Sage, so I haven't navigated through the RC CC on here, but I have read through it in Mike Kim's The LSAT Trainer sections on RC and found that adopting such a perspective on the RC section allowed for significant improvements in timing. RC is the only section I can actually finish within the allotted time thus far lol. Kim advises two strategies: to either spend more time on the passage or on the questions. I opt for the latter. Choosing to spend more time on the questions, and less on the passage, has helped me significantly, once I adopted the right approach. These pointers helped me stay on top of what I was reading until I was able to establish a comfortable pace to move through RC sections. I stop to think when reading only when absolutely necessary about the reasoning structure, slow enough to understand why component parts are presented, but too fast to get bogged down by details.