Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Has any particular college class helped you with writing your personal statement

_oshun1__oshun1_ Alum Member

Although I majored in philosophy (lots of writing), I'm terrible at writing about myself. I was thinking about signing up for a creative writing class at a community college over the summer.

Does anyone else have this issue and what helped you get better at writing about yourself?

I have written many drafts of my PS and they all ended up being too broad or too specific and just overall terrible :'(

Comments

• akistotleakistotle Member 🍌🍌
    edited June 2017 9382 karma

I am a terrible writer, but I just finished writing a somewhat decent personal statement. I have a specific reason why I want to become a lawyer and a story to tell, so I wrote a messy draft and kept polishing it. I think all you have to do is to write a story about yourself and why you would like to go to law school.

I do not know anything about the creative writing class that you are planning to take, but if it is not specifically designed for writing personal statements for law schools, I think it will be waste of time/money (unless you are interested in becoming a creative writer for other purposes.)

@"surfy surf" said:
    I have written many drafts of my PS and they all ended up being too broad or too specific and just overall terrible :'(

Has anyone critiqued your statement and made suggestions?

I don't want to be someone who is always pushing for a 7Sage course (Disclaimer: I am not getting paid), but 7Sage offers Admission Courses which can help you with your writing process.
    https://7sage.com/admissions/enroll/
    If you are interested, it is definitely worth the price! ;) (Ok, I admit I have received a gift card from 7Sage for being active on this Forum, but I'm definitely not getting paid to promote this!)

• TheMikeyTheMikey Alum Member
    4196 karma