Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Burnout is REAL!

chrijani7chrijani7 Alum Member
edited December 2014 in General 827 karma
So I have a subscription to Scientific American MIND and this months edition had a 4 page write all about burnout. Although it was mostly pertaining to the workplace, I found much of the article pertained to burnout in general and would applicable to the LSAT, so I figured I'd share.

The articles begins by outlining what burnout is and how it comes about. Burnout typically comes as a result of overextending one self. The most familiar reason for burnout is exhaustion from working too hard with insufficient rest. This clearly isn't some secret, but as someone who has studied for the LSAT, I think its safe to say we often underestimate the need for rest and overlook how beneficial it can be to our studies.

The article goes on to say that the three main components of burnout are: exhaustion, cynicism, and inefficacy. Experts say that even exhibiting features of one area is a risk factor and that the three factors tend to be related. What typically contributes to burnout is unrealistic expectations and feeling a lack of control over your work. However, the article also notes that there is not just one recipe for burnout.

What I found particularly interesting was, "The quantity of work is important, but he real trouble arises from an employee's perception of his or her performance". This statement directly ties back to how setting unrealistic expectations can lead to burnout. I found this area to most relevant to the LSAT because I know there were times where I thought I did really well on a test, only to find out after scoring it I bombed it. Typically what followed were doubts about the entire process, maybe even a little anger and resentment towards the LSAC and there were even times where I felt like giving up.