Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do elite law schools frown on taking a pass/fail course in college?

JRA11111JRA11111 Member
edited October 2017 in Law School Admissions 5 karma

So I'm in my final semester in undergrad and I'm considering taking a class pass/fail, I know the LSAC GPA calculator doesn't penalize you for this, but do admissions officers at elite law schools frown on it? I've never taken a pass/fail class before

Comments

• TheMikeyTheMikey Alum Member
    4196 karma

Nope, shouldn't hurt you one bit for any school. Maybe if you're applying to Yale it might but that I'm not sure of and I even doubt they care that much. The only way I can see P/F classes hurting is if you have a crap ton of them which MAY raise some eyebrows, but if you only have a few then they more than likely don't care as long as they are getting that LSAC GPA from you.

• btsao650btsao650 Alum Member
    254 karma

I think it would depend on if the class is typically pass/fail or not. I come from a huge state school and the only class people normally take pass/fail is P.E. If this is a class that most students take for a grade (ex. biology, english, etc.) then I would avoid pass/fail.

4196 karma

@btsao650 said:
    I think it would depend on if the class is typically pass/fail or not. I come from a huge state school and the only class people normally take pass/fail is P.E. If this is a class that most students take for a grade (ex. biology, english, etc.) then I would avoid pass/fail.

Ehh, it doesn't really matter though. I know a few people who took graded classes but made them pass/fail and now go to top schools including Harvard, and according to them they don't think anyone cared at all about the P/F classes. But like I said above, it more than likely doesn't matter unless you have an excess amount of them that were voluntarily switched to P/F, which may potentially be seen as a red flag.