Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The Power of Words: "grinding"

Victor WuVictor Wu Alum Member
in General 661 karma

I am not really trying to start much of a discussion here. But, I have a general thought I wanted to share. Words have power. If you say something enough, you end up believing it. If you continue to say you’re stuck, you eventually really do become stuck. I’ve noticed a lot of people use the word “grinding”, which I know a lot of us are essentially doing. I want to bring up the potential that words such as “grinding” could be negatively affecting our mindset. Grinding is something that is tedious and seemingly without end. Is this truly the mindset in which we want to approach the LSAT?

I think the LSAT is a fantastic opportunity for me to prepare myself to think like a future lawyer. I am a musician, and I see many parallels. Practicing etudes, although boring at times, helps my techniques, which ultimately helps me perform my concertos much better. I think the LSAT is a very fair test, and I believe this test will help develop some of the logical thinking skills I will need as a lawyer.

~ just a friendly thought. Study on!

Comments

• Jonathan WangJonathan Wang Yearly Sage
    edited November 2017 6866 karma

This is easily my favorite post in recent memory.

Practicing etudes, although boring at times, helps my techniques, which ultimately helps me perform my concertos much better.

The etude bit is spot on. You'll never be forced to perform any etude ever in a live concert setting. But the skills that etude built for you helped prepare you to perform that concerto that you are playing. Nobody plays Sarasate or Wieniewski to any degree of proficiency without practicing on Kreutzer's, Sevcik's, or Wohlfahrt's etudes first (shout out to my fellow violinists).

Mindset matters, people. Your attitude determines your altitude.

• 1000001910000019 Alum Member
    3279 karma