Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

done with this?

dlr60657dlr60657 Alum Member
in General 41 karma

I just stopped at the end of section 2-- logic games-- in a prep test, after leaving one game almost completely unfinished. I think I'm ready to give up on the LSAT.

My background: went to a good school, didn't have direction, graduated with a 3.0, and I've been working in a job that I hate for three years. Public service is my passion, and I really want to go to law school (a good law school, of course). I need to crack into the 170's to be a viable candidate. I started studying in May with the PowerScore books, then I discovered 7Sage a few months ago. I've been studying pretty seriously and intensively for the last 2-3 months. My score has improved from a 155 to a 162, but it has stagnated at that 162 for three tests. I've been doing some refining around the edges, really utilizing that LSAT analytics feature-- nailing 4s and 5s.

I feel like I'm not "getting" it-- like I don't have that edge, or intelligence, or whatever it is that allows oneself to crack 170. My throat is hoarse from screaming after ending another logic games section with a game untouched. I thought, what's the point anymore? I've been working at it for so long and hard and I still can't nail these games under timed circumstances, especially when there's only one 1 in the set. Sure, I can go back afterward under non-timed conditions and eventually get it. And sure, I can do it ten times after watching JY brilliantly explain it, but that doesn't change how I perform when I try to apply what I've learned.