Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Which is the best way? To read the stimulus or the question stem.

I have studied with power score in the past and have taken blueprint as well. Powerscore LR says to read stimulus first and then the question but blueprint is the other way around ( read question then stimulus). What is your take/suggestion?

Comments

• goingfor99thgoingfor99th Free Trial Member
    edited December 2017 3072 karma

It is best to read the stimulus first, imho. I was reluctant to admit this until the end of my training. If you're going for a 170 or better, on test day you should be so good at reading stimuli for arguments that whatever parts of the argument are present are fresh in your memory by the time you get to the question stem.

• Kermit750Kermit750 Alum Member
    2124 karma

I advocate for reading the question stem before the stimulus. I studied with Power Score as well and I don't think it is of much benefit reading the stimulus before the question stem. Reading the question stem first primes you for what to look for as you approach the stimulus.

• FerdaFreshFerdaFresh Alum Member
    561 karma

Stem first. Here's why: