Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

RC Hierarchy

bstew2002bstew2002 Alum Member
When doing RC passages, I seem to do worse when I get too focused on the details. On the other hand, I tend to do better when I maintain a "big-picture" view of the passage. Furthermore, the former causes me to spend more time reading (3-5 minutes) and the latter less (i hope that was clear... probably not I'm a shitty writer).

To elaborate, when I maintain the big-picture approach focus on the structure, viewpoints (and how they relate), and the main idea of the passage and paragraphs.

I think "getting too involved in the details" means I get too focused on understanding the inferences and assumptions within the passage and neglect the larger implications.

So, even though all answers are equally weighted regardless of their focus, does anyone prioritize aspects (opinions, examples, definitions, etc...) of the passage? (Note: i won't way "parts" of the passage because they are not always broken down so neatly...)

So maybe a decent priority of focus would look something like this:
1) Main Idea
2) Structure
3) Opinions/Positions
4) Examples
5) Definitions
6) Assumptions, Inferences, other gaps in the arguments

Any similar experiences? Thoughts?

Also, when I look at a passage after reading and marking it, more underling and bracketing=worse performance.

Comments

• blah170blahblah170blah Alum Inactive ⭐
    3545 karma
    I'm the same exact way too. I rarely notate, and if I do notate, it's only to get an understanding of what I'm reading, not really meant as something that I'm going to refer back to (except I do underline the author's opinion). After I read the passage one-time through, I make a quick list (30 sec-1 min) identifying what purpose each paragraph serves:
    P1: background
    P2: example
    P3: second example
    P4: conclusion