Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSDAS GPA

Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
edited April 2016 in Law School Admissions 27829 karma
Ok, I’m new to this. What exactly is the LSDAS GPA? I just transferred my transcript into the 7Sage calculator and my LSDAS GPA is a full 0.1 higher than my UGPA. Is that typical? I’m cautiously excited about what that could mean, but don’t want to get ahead of myself. So how does this work? Which number do they care about?

Comments

• quinnxzhangquinnxzhang Member
    edited April 2016 611 karma
    Schools care about the LSDAS GPA. After you send all of your college-level transcripts to the LSAC, they assign a numerical value to each letter grade (A=4.0, B=3.0, etc.) and calculate your GPA based on their scale.

This will usually be exactly the same or pretty close to your UGPA, but sometimes they'll be different, e.g. because your school weighs different grades differently or because you took some summer courses at another university or something.
  • runiggyrunruniggyrun Alum Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    2481 karma
    The law schools care about the LSDAS GPA only (that's the GPA calculated by the LSAC using their own formula for converting grades into 0-4 numbers and weighing them based on credits). I wouldn't get excited about it being 0.1 higher unless that was the number shown on your official LSAC report, calculated by the LSAC people after you've sent them all the transcripts. The number 7Sage gives you, while most likely accurate, is still just an estimate.
  • Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27829 karma