Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How Much Does a Gap Year Affect Admissions?

hodginkhodgink Live Member
edited July 2023 in Law School Admissions 31 karma

Hi everyone! I am a rising senior in undergraduate and am really hoping to go straight into law school. However, many advisors and peers have told me that taking a gap year and working in a legal profession is almost always recommended for boosting chances of admission to most T14s. I have been working part time with an attorney since junior year of college, so technically I have legal work experience, but it is not "official" as it was an internship. Would this experience be enough to count as legal work experience, or do I really need a gap year? Moreover, are gap years with legal work experience really that important for admissions? Are there any schools in particular that really really prefer students with gap years? I am seriously so stressed about this, so any responses would be SO appreciated-thanks!

Comments

• sucralosedaddysucralosedaddy Alum Member
    310 karma

No you don't "need" a gap year. I would definitely recommend it though.

• victoriahanna13victoriahanna13 Alum Member
    13 karma

I'm in a very similar situation to you. It's not an easy decision, but it gives you more time to really think about what school you really want to go to and gives you more time to focus on the LSAT. Just take things at your own pace and keep working towards your end goal.

• Marcus1234Marcus1234 Alum Member
    20 karma

Don't be anxious. Honestly, I have heard that legal work in a gap year might be even bad for you in case you are not passionate about what you are doing. That will be a risk if you just take the job because you believe you have to. This article might help: https://abovethelaw.com/career-files/law-school-lowdown-should-you-paralegal-prior-to-attending-law-school/

• rdyoung12rdyoung12 Alum Member
    306 karma