Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

More information about the whole scholarship process?

LsatistheworstLsatistheworst Free Trial Member
edited January 2017 in Law School Admissions 59 karma

Hi all,

Just to give you an idea of where I stand, I applied to almost all of the T14s, as well as a few schools ranked 17-25. My stats aren't that great, but I am a nontraditional student with a very interesting life story, as well as an underrepresented minority. One of my friends told me that, because of this, I would actually have a better shot of getting into a higher ranked school because they don't need to be as worried about preserving their numbers. I didn't believe her until I very recently got my first acceptance.

So far I have been accepted into Columbia (4), waitlisted from Cornell and Georgetown (13 and 14) and rejected from Berk, Emory, and GW (8, 22, and 25). I haven't received anything about scholarships from Columbia, so I don't know how much money (if any) they are going to offer me.

From what I have heard, you can negotiate with a given law school based off of what another law school offers you. In light of this, I am hoping that I get into a lower T14 school (like Duke or Northwestern) and use Columbia as leverage. I would love someone's opinion on how feasible that would be, as well as how the process actually works.

Thanks in advance!!

Comments

• stgl1230stgl1230 Member
    821 karma

@Lsatistheworst said:
    Hi all,