Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any advice for morning people taking the June exam?

MapleSarahpMapleSarahp Member
edited February 2017 in General 125 karma

I know it's recommended to wake up early or be ready by 8:30ish to simulate test-day conditions, but what about the June exam that starts at 1pm?

I'm an early-morning person so the June start time is a serious nightmare (or rather, afternoon-mare) for me, because I tend to hit an afternoon slump, or at least feel not as alert around noon. I've tried waking up later, but having a hard time with things like giving up morning runs when there's less traffic, to generally feeling bad about losing that morning study time, when I'm studying full time and usually get a good chunk done before noon. I feel more productive on an early morning routine, but perhaps it's not worth the risk of a mid-day-slump-during-June-exam?

Any thoughts or experience on getting used to the June LSAT start time?

Comments

• BenjaminSFBenjaminSF Alum Member Inactive ⭐
    edited February 2017 457 karma

@"maple sarahp" I wish that I had that problem! I think a lot of people struggle more with transitioning to a morning routine than the alternative.

For what it is worth, I did not adhere to a consistent study time during the day while doing the curriculum, buffing up on weak areas, or when BRing. Since these are not test-day conditions, I didn't think it would have an adverse effect on my focus during the actual test, which I took this past weekend. I did, however, make sure to take my PTs during a 1-2 hour window near the start time for the test. Since there is invariably a bit of delay on test day due to administrative paperwork, I would start my PTs between 9 and 9:30. For the June test, this would be around 1-2:30 it sounds like.