Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Question about LSAC GPA for veterans

asaunders2010asaunders2010 Member
in General 26 karma

I am a veteran, and I received 18 total credits for my time served. On my transcript they show up as "TR". They do count toward my undergrad degree, but obviously there is no GPA associated. They aren't from another school so I can't just ask someone for a transcript. I guess my question is, are these credits just not counted?

Comments

• inactiveinactive Alum Member
    12637 karma

Bumping this so more people can see

• asaunders2010asaunders2010 Member
    26 karma

Thank you. Every site I found, they all said any credits toward your undergrad count for LSAC. I guess a part of me is hoping I get a 4.0 for those credits

• TheMikeyTheMikey Alum Member
    4196 karma

I don't really know about your situation, but since you received credit, did you also receive grades?

• Freddy_DFreddy_D Alum Member
    2983 karma

Purely speculative, but I think the credits will most likely be added; however, since you didn't actually receive a grade for these classes, it won't help or hurt your GPA

• Daniel.SieradzkiDaniel.Sieradzki Member Sage
    edited May 2017 2301 karma

I also am not sure about the answer. However, the LSAC's GPA calculation does not include classes that have no grade associated with them. I had a lab class that was not graded and it did not impact my GPA in any way. Therefore, I expect that these credits will neither help nor hurt your GPA. However, the credit itself might show up on the LSAC undergraduate report that is sent to law schools, which would still impress the schools even if it does not help your GPA. I would advise you to call LSAC to discuss this issue. The number is (215) 968-1001. Their helpline is very good and the people are friendly.