Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to nicely ask for a recommendation letter?

olioliberolioliber Alum Member
in General 729 karma

I graduated 2 years ago and need a rec letter from my law psychology professor. I got an A and this class strengthened my decision to study law. However, I never went to office hours, or talked to the professor. Also, it's been 2 years. I need to send him an email, but I'm starring at a blank page. Please help? What should I say?

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma

@oberdysz

Send an email politely re-introducing yourself and set up a time to talk with him about your LOR. You'll want to build a bit of rapport back up, as well as have a chance to talk a bit before you ask. You'll want to explain to them why law school and have your resume and maybe a writing sample from your class with them. Something to show them you did well in their class...

If you can, schedule a time for a phone call or to attend their office hours.

I know it's stressful, but don't worry too much. Professors usually write tons of LORs for various students going to grad school.

Good luck!

• NorthernAtticusNorthernAtticus Alum Member
    edited November 2019 79 karma

[deleted]

• olioliberolioliber Alum Member
    729 karma

@"alaric.taves" said:
    I was in exactly this position a month ago (right down to the psychology professor!). I was really worried about coming off as presumptuous or annoying, particularly because the class was so long ago and I didn't really have a strong relationship with the professor.