For Canadians - OLSAS calculating your GPA incorrectly...??

Hi all,

Just went onto OLSAS (for those who don't know, it's the Canadian system where you submit law school applications in Ontario) because I heard that the calculation they make for your GPA went up.

...... It says I have a 3.48 GPA. I've heard that OLSAS can bring down people's GPA, but I graduated my university "With Distinction" which meant that I had an overall 80%+ average over my four years at uni. According to the OLSAS chart, that should warrant a 3.7 GPA. (I am in column #3 - https://www.ouac.on.ca/guide/olsas-conversion-table/)

I'm pretty nervous because I relied on having that GPA as a strong part of my application, as I know I won't be getting a super competitive score on the LSAT. I've already messaged OLSAS but they haven't gotten back to me yet.

Has anyone had experience with this? Is this the GPA that Canadian law schools use to consider your application, or do they still calculate it themselves/look at your transcript?

Comments

• LivePumpkinLivePumpkin Free Trial Member
    edited December 2017 270 karma

Hey, I’ve heard of others experiencing similar problems and contacting OLSAS usually resulted in a fix. Did you try and manually calculate your OLSAS GPA (calculating it per course and divide it by the number of courses you have taken)? And considering it’s almost the holidays, they may not be answering until January.

• kshutes13kshutes13 Member
    634 karma

@LivePumpkin said:
    Hey, I’ve heard of others experiencing similar problems and contacting OLSAS usually resulted in a fix. Did you try and manually calculate your OLSAS GPA (calculating it per course and divide it by the number of courses you have taken)? And considering it’s almost the holidays, they may not be answering until January.