Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

question about rec letters

gracie.shepherdgracie.shepherd Free Trial Member
edited October 2014 in General 9 karma
I graduated from college in 2010 and am currently in the application process for law school. I had a 3.7 GPA and am scoring around 165+ on practice LSATs. Anyway, I am not in contact with any of my professors from undergrad. What would you recommend as far as rec letters go - is it good enough to have people who can speak to my intelligence level and go-getter-ness, or is there a more creative solution? The letter writers I'm planning on are the editor of the newspaper where I was a business reporter for 3 years (I now work for my dad's brokerage firm, so I can't get him to write one as my boss), and the executive director of the high school mentoring nonprofit I volunteer with. I feel very confident about those letter being detailed and positive, but am worried about the lack of academic content per se.

Thank you so much for any input/help.

Comments

• dvillat1dvillat1 Alum Member
    43 karma
    Hi! I've asked about that too and most law school admission counselors that I have spoken to have said that they prefer academic references. You should definitely consider talking to one about your situation though. Good luck!
  • ricardo.e.mirandaricardo.e.miranda Free Trial Member
    edited October 2014 15 karma
    I won't be taking the LSAT at least for another 6 months. But when it comes time to start the application process, I am wondering if anyone thinks it will be necessary for me to take some part time courses just that I can get the academic reference? Isn't it sufficient if you have a B.S. and Masters in Aerospace and Electrical Engineering. The Masters was earned in Sep 2009. I'm just now getting informed regarding the LOR requirements.
  • Sully8725Sully8725 Alum Member
    edited October 2014 146 karma