Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

"Provided" necessary or sufficient condition?

Hi,
I was wondering if "provided that" is a necessary or sufficient assumption indicator? (Please see below)

You will appreciate cultural differences "provided" that you reflect on your own civilization.

How about "contingent on", "assuming that", "as long as"?

Thanks

Comments

• edited August 2018 8 karma

Take this with a grain of salt - I'm a beginner with this sort of stuff - but when I hear 'provided,' it seems to serve the same function as would 'if.' The statement you're referring to would bear the same effect with that substitution made: "You will appreciate cultural differences if you reflect on your own civilization."

So I'd say it's sufficient. At least in this context. I'll leave those other three to others so as not to lead you too far astray! Happy studying!

Edit: thinking this through a bit more... 'provided' be more akin to 'only if,' which of course would indicate a necessary condition. Geez. Sorry for any confusion, hopefully someone who's more certain will comment soon!

• Tim HortonsTim Hortons Alum Member
    edited August 2018 389 karma

This is an interesting one. I don't know if I would be inclined to view a sentence with "provided that" as a conditional, but then again, this kind of brings to light the vast scope of sufficiency and necessity.

In my opinion, I view "provided that" as a qualification, meaning "on the condition that".

Examples:
    You may drive your Ford Mustang provided that you have a license.
    You may write the LSAT provided that you register for it with LSAC.

I think, per viewing it as a qualification, "provided that" indicates the necessary condition since the qualification is required (so, I agree with @LogicallyImpaired!).

Examples:
    Driving your Ford Mustang requires you to have a license.
    If you're driving your Mustang, you must have a license.