Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Distance from uGPA

I have an embarrassingly low uGPA from my first pass in college with a cumulative 2.86 from 2010-14 as a result of being a lazy and unmotivated college student. I spent 2014-2018 on active duty with the United States Army and have re-enrolled in college to complete a second Bachelor's degree before attending law school. I just completed my first semester back with a 4.0 on 15 credit hours.

What will be taken most into consideration by admissions offices - the 2.86 from 2010-14, 4.0 from 2018, or an adjusted cumulative of 2.99 that combines 2010-14 and 2018? Do I bother writing an addendum?

I know a solid LSAT score will help pick up some slack and I will be taking the January 2019 exam.

I am not attempting to make it into a top-notch law school, just one located locally as my wife and I are homeowners in the area and plan to be here for quite sometime. Their class of 2021 profile is 155/3.64 - 152/3.42 - 148/2.93. I have read as a rule of thumb that if one of your GPA/LSAT is in the 25th percentile then the other should be in the 75th - can anyone offer any insight to this?

Comments

• AudaciousRedAudaciousRed Alum Member
    2689 karma

It will be a weighed average of all the credits you have ever done. So, the plus side is, if you have any A+'s, they are counted fully as 4.33. 7sage has a predictor (https://7sage.com/gpa-calculator/) for how LSAC will calculate your grade. It's not 100% perfect, but it was really, really close when I did mine (0.01 difference).

• john1234-1john1234-1 Alum Member
    edited December 2018 426 karma

@Cincinnatus said:
    Do I bother writing an addendum?

I would say absolutely; from my understanding, these are the sort of things addenda are for.

• LSAT_WreckerLSAT_Wrecker Member
    4850 karma