PT73.S4.Q23 - Problem: If Shayna congratulates Daniel on his award

Kaleighns4Kaleighns4 Alum Member
edited December 2018 in Logical Reasoning 45 karma

Can someone please explain to me how the answer is E on this question? I chose answer choice B and don't understand why or how answer E is correct.

Admin note: edited title
https://7sage.com/lsat_explanations/lsat-73-section-4-question-23/

Comments

• juanmapmjuanmapm Alum Member
    edited December 2018 379 karma

@Kaleighns4 this is my first time explaining a question so sorry ahead of time if my explanation is convoluted.

This is a principle question with a somewhat unique form.

Our problem is stated in conditional language: If S congratulates D ---> S is insincere (A--->B). If S does not congratulate D ----> S hurts D's feelings (~A--->C). Terms match so our conditional chain is: S does not hurt's D's feelings ----> S congratulates D -----> S insincere (~C--->A--->B).

Our principle states that one should never be insincere about one's feelings (except where one believes that the person with whom one is speaking would prefer kindness to honesty). Therefore, we are looking for an answer choice that must have something to do with Shayna's sincerity/insincerity and be aware of the exception of Shayna believing that Daniel prefers kindness to honesty.

Answer choice B is tempting since it matches our conditional terms but it talks about how Daniel might feel but not at all how Shayna would feel/if she's truly is being insincere. (D is wrong for the same reason)

That leaves us with A, C, and E.

A is wrong since it affirms the sufficient condition (~C) which would mean Shayna is being insincere (B) which flies against the principle.
    C is wrong since it talks in very vague terms about Shayna preferring kindness to honesty (we only care about Daniel's preference and about Shayna being honest/dishonest with her feelings).