Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to identify what law schools you want to attend?

Hello, I wanted to get everyones thoughts/opinions on how they identifying what law schools they wanted to apply to and the criteria if any they used in selecting them. I dont have a LSAT score on file presently so I can only guestimate with the admission predictor. I have an okay undergrad GPA (3.1) and high grad school GPA (3.8? with about 4 years of upper management exp. under my belt. I am hoping to apply in Fall 2019 for enrollment in Fall 2020.

So far I have created an lists of school I am interested in, I have done some prelim research, and have visited a few schools in my area. I know this is a pretty broad/general question but I am new to the whole LSAT/Law school admission process. Thanks in advance everyone.

Comments

• Harvey_lHarvey_l Alum Member
    268 karma

Yikes!!

So here's the thing, LS is mostly about UGPA and LSAT right?
    Which means if you want to get into a T14 school, you'll have to get a 170+ on the LSAT. (Which is completely doable, I've seen a UVA acceptance of a 2.99/171 this admissions cycle!!)

This means you should ideally be preparing your best to get a high score on the LSAT!
    For now, the doors are open to T30, T14's for you, so don't fret.
    Just set your goal high (i.e. 180 or 178! highly unprobable, but not impossible, especially because we don't know your diagnostic score yet)

:smiley: Try your best to get that LSAT score up, then make your decision. You have all the time in the world! :wink:

• Selene SteelmanSelene Steelman Free Trial Member Admissions Consultant
    2037 karma

Your top priority should be to prepare for the LSAT and try to achieve the highest possible score.

Other factors you should consider when looking at law schools: