Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

March LSAT: What to do?

Norm ChowNorm Chow Alum Member

I'm taking the March LSAT this upcoming Saturday (3/30) but I'm nowhere near ready for the exam. I started studying in January and overestimated how much I could do while working FT and have only completed about 75% of the core curriculum and about 4-5 PTs (I started to try and do PTs since I was fast approaching the exam date).

I'm averaging about 159 on my exams and can get up to 166 on BR (mostly because I can do LGs perfectly untimed but during the timed section I get anywhere from -5 to most recently -9). I don't have enough time to improve my score but I figured since it's my first time taking the test, I should still go and do so. However, should I worry about getting a score that is not reflective of my true ability? I know you can omit the score but I don't know how much it matters since it's evident schools don't average anymore.

Help is appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited March 2019 23929 karma

I don’t think there’s an objective answer to this. I was told not to take the test until I was ready. That was solid advice. However, I scored a few points lower than I think I would have if I had experienced the real thing beforehand. So you might get something out of taking it before you’re 100% ready.

That said, you say you started studying in January, haven’t finished the CC, and you’re no where near ready. So that’s a different story...

I would personally recommend postponing. I just don’t see what the upside potential will be taking it before you’re anywhere near prepared.

For only having done 75% of the CC and a handful of PTs, it’s clear to me you have the ability to score very well on this test. And while schools may not average tests scores, there’s nothing helpful about a low score on your record either.

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage