Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is it worth it?

seglen512seglen512 Free Trial Member
edited January 2015 in General 14 karma
I started studying for LSAT in July - I quit my job so that I could dedicate every waking moment to studying. I felt really good about where I was and was PT'ing at 166. Took the September LSAT and was incredibly disappointed when I got a 158. I usually get perfect scores on LG, so when that tricky section threw me off, I knew my score would be lower, but not that much lower! So I studied more for the December test, and was PT'ing even higher - 167-170. Again, I was devastated last night when I found out I only scored a 158 again.

So here's my real concern: my score doesn't reflect my ability at all, and it seems like I have a test taking problem--some serious nerves are causing me a lot of grief. I took 40 different practice tests. I only scored below a 160 3 times. That is seriously concerning to me. Is it even worth it to take the test a third time? I have this fear that I will inevitably get nervous again and wind up with a 158 for the third time. But I also really can't imagine waiting until next cycle to take the test all over again and waiting another year to go to law school. I had originally intended to apply for the 2013-2014 cycle, but unfortunately I experienced a string of deaths of people close to me during the summer when I needed to study but just couldn't. I don't think a 158 is a good enough score to get me into a school I'd be happy at. But I can't imagine waiting yet another year only to score the same 158 a third time.

So I guess my options are to go for it for this cycle with a 158 and hope I get in to one of the schools I want. Or to forego this cycle, put it off another year, retake in June and HOPE that my score will be higher even when I have so much doubt? And I have no idea what the dynamics around taking the Feb test would be.