Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Professional and Academic Letters of Rec

ALAMAROBALAMAROB Alum Member

Hello! I graduated from college in May of 2017 and will be applying to law school this coming fall.

Right now I have one academic and one professional recommendation secured. However, in reviewing the requirements for the schools I plan to apply to, I see some schools strongly prefer two academic references unless one has been out of school and working "for some time" or a "significant amount of time" or "several years". I don't find these requirements to be super clear, and am wondering if anyone has any insight as to when one academic and one professional letter is appropriate. What do schools typically consider as "some time"?

I am considering asking for a second academic letter but am not sure if that is necessary given that when I am applying I will have been in the workforce for 2.5 years.

Thanks!

Comments

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

I don't think 2.5 years is enough time to not have two academic letters. Your professors should still easily remember you if you were engaged in their classes and send them an email to jog their memory (you took this class, got this grade, did this paper/project). I would definitely ask for another academic letter.

• 246 karma

@ALAMAROB said:
    Hello! I graduated from college in May of 2017 and will be applying to law school this coming fall.