Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GPA questions

shine.on.meshine.on.me Alum Member
edited July 2021 in Law School Admissions 463 karma
I finally got my GPA according to LSAC today. I had a slightly non-traditional undergraduate experience. I went to a large and highly respected community college for most of my general courses (about 2.5 years) and spent another 2.5 years at NC State University and I graduated from NCSU. According to LSAC, I have a 2.54 Degree GPA and a 3.0 Cumulative GPA. I know T14 schools are out of the question but I'm working my butt off to make sure my LSAT is good enough to attempt to get into T25-50. But I'm worried about my GPA. When it comes time to submit applications, does anyone know on degree or cumulative GPA, will one have more bearing over the other? I think I can write an addendum for the semesters that brought my GPA down. So that may help some. While on that note, does anyone know how mental illness addenda are viewed in law school applications? Furthermore, is community college viewed negatively? Should I write an addendum for it? Lastly, do law schools look at the classes at all or just the GPA? It would be nice if my semester of paralegal courses that made me want to be a lawyer were considered. I did well in them.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• ddakjikingddakjiking Inactive ⭐
    edited January 2015 2116 karma
    Did you do a lot better at NCSU? Your official LSAC gpa should be the 3.0 cumulative. Don't write off the T14's just yet as you could possibly get into some with a 170+ lsat.

I won't comment on the GPA addenda since I'm in no position to give a legit response but for all intensive purposes, schools will primarily care about your overall LSAC GPA as that is what is being reported to USNR.
  • jdawg113jdawg113 Alum Inactive ⭐
    2654 karma