Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Aim for 170 or Transfer after 1L? Please share your experience!

TlayyyyyyTlayyyyyy Alum Member
edited February 2020 in General 80 karma

Hi-

I’ve been studying LSAT for over 4 months. I started from 149 and my score hasnt necessarily improved much. I am hitting 159-ish on Preptests.

I was originally going to apply in the Fall 2020 to TOP 14, w/ hopefully higher score closer to 170 since my undergrad GPA is low.
Then, I have recently heard of people transferring after 1L to TOP 14. I know it requires acing 1L.

Some schools take apps until June for classes starting this Fall 2020. If I start this fall, I will save one year and aim to transfer to TOP 14 next fall (Fall 2021).

I am currently debating between 2 options:
1. I have not yet taken any LSAT. So, I can take this March LSAT and apply to be admitted this Fall. Or 2. Keep studying LSAT, take LSATs in summer, and apply in the Fall 2020 to start class in Fall 2021.

Any suggestions? advice? Can anyone share his/her experience of transferring?

Comments

• KevinLuminateLSATKevinLuminateLSAT Alum Member
    983 karma

Here's a series of questions that might help guide your decision:

1. Do you need to start law school in Fall 2020 instead of Fall 2021? What are the downsides of taking a year off in order to go to a higher-ranked school? What are the benefits of going to a lower-ranked school 1 year earlier? Which schools are in your range for Fall 2020? Which schools do you think are realistic in 2021?
    2. How important is getting a merit-based scholarship? You'll probably get less money applying late for Fall 2020 than by applying early for Fall 2021.