Foolproofing Personal Practices/Tips?

changejudgechangejudge Member
in Logic Games 72 karma

Starting to foolproof logic games, and I'm wondering what other people's personal practices are for the process (i.e. how many games do you do per day, do you wait until you've mastered a game before you start a new one, or do you rotate between a few while mastering them, etc.) I can't help but feel like I'm neglecting other sections of the test by devoting so much time to only LG, so I'm also wondering if y'all do different section types during a study day. Any details you can provide or tips about the process would be super helpful!

Comments

• Achen165Achen165 Member
    edited June 2020 656 karma

Slow and steady has been what worked for me, depending on your natural aptitude for games, and how fast you learn them may take more or less effort. I have had periods where I studied games for weeks at a time. The number I can knock out in a day depends on my performance. For game sections I have mastered I can do 8-10 sections per day (timed), for others it can be just a few sections if there’s games or whole sections I get stuck on. I repeat over and over again. I wouldn’t say I have had the most concise study plan ever, because surely people can get great results with far less effort, perhaps it’s my perfectionism or just plain ineptitude that I’m trying to combat. My average is -3 at present for the section (timed), my process has been as follows:

1. Practice games untimed, by type, working in order of level of difficulty (easier and medium level games perfected first), then devoting more time to optimizing miscellaneous/curveball games only after having mastered the easy and medium games with 100% accuracy. Watch videos. Repeat over and over again, without timing. I know 7Sage says 1-35, I did all up to 50, in sets of 10, cycling, keeping a log of my performance.