Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I really need some help

chezadam10-1chezadam10-1 Member
in General 35 karma

I started taking PT's and my scores fell into the high 150 range. I got a 157, 158, 159 and a 156 respectively. Frustrated that I couldnt get a 160 I changed the way I studied and felt like it would have helped. I took a week off, came back and got a 155 on a PT. After that I reviewed my test and took another one. Today I got a 152. My lowest ever. Unsure of what to do and very lost.

Comments

• tlr011499tlr011499 Member
    18 karma

Hi,

Similar situation happened to me a couple months back. I was crying over a PT because I hadn't hit a personal best in a month and a half, kept going down. I have a few pieces of advice that helped me through it.

1. Progress isn't linear. Especially on a conceptual test like the LSAT where a 2 question difference could mean a difference of 2 points overall. You're gonna go down every once in a while. Just keep at it! Your highest and your lowest score could be a fluke. You're working on consistent scoring here. A 160 might feel nice, but it'd feel nicer just to be able to consistently hit that.

2. The LSAT is a mental test. You need to be in routines and have the right mindset for each section. For instance, RC takes extreme focus and interest during a passage, then you need to be able to relax to think about the question sets. A lot of these sections require you to slow down, not get frustrated, and stay fresh. I took the LSAT-Flex in June and scored 158, 10 points lower than what I was PTing at. It's because my proctors kept coming in and out, I got so angry that I was kicking things and it completely messed my score up. It's very very possible that your 152 is a result of discouragement, frustration, or distraction. Stay as fresh as you can, don't burn yourself out, and keep a positive mindset.