Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT test anxiety help

olegb458olegb458 Member
edited March 2015 in General 9 karma
Hi all, I have taken the Feb 15 LSAT. I have scored a 145 on the test and was very disappointed with my score. I was really bothered by the test anxiety that had my heart beating very fast and was a big factor because I felt like all of the questions were going past me and I could not settle into the test at all.

I have been preparing for the test for over 6 months and have been scoring in the mid 150’s a score that is sufficient to got into a local law school that I have just been rejected from. I am wondering if I should consult a psychiatrist and maybe even do hypnosis exercises to help me get over the severe anxiety I had when taking the test. If anyone else has had the same issues or has any tips for what I should do please respond.

I know this sounds far fetched to some readers but its definitely real for me. I know this because at home I have done over 30 PT’s and was very comfortable in my own home setting, but when the timer started during the real test I just felt like I was taking my first diagnostic. I felt like I should of gotten a 155, a score that is not high at all but would be competitive for the law school for which I am applying.

Please advise.
Thank you,

Comments

• Nilesh SNilesh S Alum Inactive ⭐
    edited March 2015 3438 karma
    While the decision to see a councilor is a person's own prerogative and I don't think anyone would be comfortable advising you what to do there... I myself would not do this... instead, I'd forget about that test... on bad test can happen to anybody... use 7sage materials to prep again, BR the hell out of all the PTs that I had done, and give the test my all once more.
  • mjjohns6mjjohns6 Member
    418 karma