PT score isn't improving - feeling like I am not smart enough.

gcoughlan-1gcoughlan-1 Member
edited December 2020 in General 71 karma

Idk what i'm looking for here but I am definitely feeling upset. I wrote in 2018 and only got 151.

After nearly 3 months of studying, I am now PTing 151-154 with a few outlier scores of 158-159. I didnt know if i would hit my goal (low 160s) but I thought there is no way that I couldn't at least do better than the last time when I took it without even studying.

Im writing in January which is my last opportunity to get a good score for this application cycle and I am just feeling so defeated. I feel like all of this money and time was probably just a waste because I'm not improving even though I am studying constantly and taking breaks when I feel like I need them.

Any advice?

Comments

• mnkimmnkim Member
    137 karma

What methods have you employed in studying for the last three months? It's best to experiment and figure out what works for you.

Considering there is only a month until the January exam, I'll just talk about what methods worked for me. For LG, I drilled for about a week with the games from PT1-35 until I got all the questions right under the target time. I think this is where the most drastic change in score happened for me. For LR, time management was my biggest problem so I practiced LR sections with strict timing goals (i.e. finish first 10 questions in 10 minutes) to prevent excessive time sink. Practicing LR in 33:20 rather 35:00 helped as well. Learning when to skip questions and being able to manage time were the most beneficial for me. As for RC, I didn't have a specific method in prepping and my fundamental approach is pretty much the same.

Also, before taking a PT, I found it beneficial to take a few minutes to clear my mind and remind myself of the lessons I found useful.