Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

PT2.S2.Q11- If the forest continues to disappear...

JCEM2021JCEM2021 Core Member
edited May 2021 in Logical Reasoning 22 karma

I cannot for the life of me understand how to arrive at the answer to this question. I mapped the biologist's reasoning as Deforestation>/Koalas, and I mapped the politician's as K>/Deforestation. So in order for the politician to be right, we must meet the sufficient condition; the only way we can know the politician is wrong is if we either have K>Deforestation or (the contrapositive being wrong) Deforestation>K. I didn't see either of these options, and indeed, the correct answer choice says /Deforestation>/Koalas, which IS the correct contrapositive (so it agrees with the politician).

Thank you!

Admin note: Edited the title. Please use the format "PT#.S#.Q# - brief description of question"

Comments

• I am new to 7sage, I don't see the question though

• tahurrrrrtahurrrrr Member
    1106 karma

Can you please put the Pt/section/question # so we can look it up?

• Ashley2018-1Ashley2018-1 Alum Member
    2249 karma

I think I found your question. Google is the best lol. It’s the one about koalas and deforestation, from prep test 2, section 2, 11

Biologist: forest continues to disappear—-> koalas approach extinction

Politician: “all that is needed” to save the koala is to stop deforestation so he is saying stopping deforestation is sufficient or enough to save the koala so

/deforestation——> save koala (/extinct)

We have to find a claim that is consistent with the biologists, meaning that it could be true, but contradicts the politician’s, or it cannot be true

A.) deforestation continues + koala extinct, consistent with biologist but also consistent with politician’s since it negates the sufficient and the rule falls away, leaving it possible the koala is still saved