Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Testing in January and I'm a Mess

firstgenlaw-1firstgenlaw-1 Member
edited January 2022 in General 245 karma

I started studying for the LSAT last January 2021. Two days later, my grandmother in Mexico passed away from COVID (the same day my prep books came in the mail) and I was devastated and am still recovering. I lost four family members to COVID last year. I live in Germany so I couldn't travel abroad to support my family.

I'm PTing in the 170s for the last two months and am taking my third and final test in 2 weeks as I'm applying this cycle. Yesterday I found out my dad and some family members back home in the States tested positive for COVID. I feel like it's happening all over again and I'm trapped in Germany unable to travel as it would put my family at more risk. I need to focus on studying but I feel like...what's the point?

I have two full-rides at University of Arizona and Iowa so I should feel calm but I just feel like giving up. I need to focus but am just losing momentum right when I need it the most.

-Aspiring first-gen lawyer

Comments

• MazzyStarMazzyStar Core Member
    42 karma

First, I want to say I am so sorry for all of the loss you've experienced. I cannot even fathom what that must feel like, especially being so far from home. It's huge that you have been able to even study at all through all of that, let alone get those types of scores! Recognize that, you should be proud of yourself and remember to be kind to yourself.