Help - October 2022 LSAT

in General 308 karma

Any specific tips on how to improve significantly for the October 2022 test?

I took the test in January hoping it would be my last time but only scored a 160 (my GPA is lower so I would need a higher LSAT score). Today is the first time I got back into studying and took a PT (untimed) to see how much of what I studied previously I have lost and ended up scoring a 156. I know my weak areas are LR and Reading Comprehension but I was wondering if anyone had specific tips or strategies to improve scores on those 2 sections.

Comments

• redfoxblacksoxredfoxblacksox Core Member
    19 karma

For reading comp:

Read at an even pace. I tend to take one or two "chicken scratch" notes per section. To be honest, it is mostly to prevent myself from mentally falling asleep, as these sections tend to be a bit dry! I don't go back and read my notes later.

While reading, I also digitally highlight to help me keep track. Things like dates, main ideas, reasons, etc. It's not so much like "OH THIS IS IMPORTANT" (I feel like in undergrad note taking, one highlights things that they feel are key ideas/something they'd like to add into an essay. For LSAT reading comp, I like to highlight things as a map marker, so my eyes can quickly look back on a section when the question comes up). After practicing, you can anticipate what kind of questions they might ask. LSAT reading comp provides many good sounding answers; because of this, it is very important to look back on specific text to see what they are actually saying, vs what you remember them saying if that makes sense.

In a different color, I like to highlight words that indicate tone. This isn't as relevant for science passages, but you can bet your butt that if there's any bias/personal opinion outside of dry fact, they'll ask a question about it!

For Logical Reasoning: