Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Optimal Study Time per day

Hey everyone, just want to hear everyone's thoughts on what worked for them in terms of how many study hours you put in per day without feeling burnt out?

Comments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27822 karma

Depends on the situation. When I was working 60-70 hours a week, I studied much less. I learned to set very low minimums because if I was ambitious and told myself I was going to study for 4 hours after work, I'd often feel overwhelmed and end up not studying at all. So I'd plan for 1 hour, or even just 30 minutes. That at least got me started. Once I'd finished that time, I would allow myself to continue if I wanted, but it was also perfectly okay and guilt-free if I wanted to just be done with it. This helped me to get started because even if I really didn't want to study, I could just knock out 30 minutes and be done with it. It helped manage burnout because I was able to achieve my daily minimum without too much exertion. And it helped maximize my effectiveness because it ensured that the majority of my study time came from wanting to study and not forcing it. Some of the days I dreaded studying the most, I'd sit down to just get it behind me but then get really absorbed in something and end up wanting to continue. Pursuing something out of interest will almost always be more effective than forcing it, so that's a good practice both for learning generally and for managing burnout.