Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice- Is it possible to jump from a 130 to 180

mthurst.3mthurst.3 Core Member
edited July 2023 in October 2023 LSAT 35 karma

Hi Guys,

I achieved a diagnostic score in March of a 130 and in April as well, but my score was still pretty low. I am planning to take the test in October and started studying about May 13th. I really would like to hit the 99th percentile, if possible, but not sure if anyone else has achieved more than 40+ increase. I am studying about 20 hours week and seriously studying, but just concerned. I know anything is possible, but just a little worried that I scored a little lower. Not sure if this is normal. I want to get full-ride scholarships.

Thanks so much! Stay Blessed!

Comments

• David-180lsat-1David-180lsat-1 Alum Member
    23 karma

Can't speak to how possible it is given that I am still working toward a 99th percentile score myself. However, I think the gap is significant enough where it would probably make sense to study towards a score goal rather than setting the goal market to be the October LSAT.

I don't think 40 point increase is impossible but at the very least is incredibly uncommon so just opens the door for frustration given you'll only have 5 months, assuming no breaks.

Good luck

• Cynical Bean CounterCynical Bean Counter Alum Member
    66 karma

I know of somebody who went from a 126 to a 168 in one month, but I know a hundred others who only increased by 15 or so points in the span of a year.

Your goal isn't impossible, just uncommon (as David noted). You want an uncommon grade? You'll have to be uncommon.

• u______uu______u Alum Member
    233 karma