Considering law school again (Career switch/almost 40/target UVA)

alp7qalp7q Core Member

8 years ago I shifted from applying to law school (frustrated by stagnant LSAT performance) to teaching. I am a high school government teacher (AP and grade level) with masters in teaching. My life is in Charlottesville (teach here, attended grad and undergrad here), so UVA is my top choice by a mile. My GPA is high (3.89 undergrad, 4.0 grad), and LSAT 8 years ago = 157. I'm considering preparing for the Aug 2024 LSAT and taking a shot if I'm able to bring my score up ~10 points.

I will be 39 years old when applying... and wondering if age will decrease my chances at admission or if I'm too old to shift to a traditional 3 year program at top tier school.

I've thought a lot about it that last year and now I'm looking for any advice, words of wisdom, or insight that any of you have.

Comments

• daciaochoadaciaochoa Live Member
    63 karma

You are not TOO OLD to apply to law school. Actually, it sounds like you have an impressive resume that will actually make you stand out among many other J.D candidates. I'd say go for it!! You have an impressive work ethic and you have a unique work experience that most younger students do not have. This could be good because it could inspire you to move into a different industry, in this case, the legal industry. Considering that you are hoping to take the Aug. 2024 LSAT, you are in for a BIG change compared to when you last applied--NO LOGIC GAMES--this could be good or bad, depending on how you feel about them. Regardless, the process will be anything but easy but if you're determined and committed to studying for the LSAT, I am sure your score will be better than your last score.

I wish you the best of luck! :smile:

• MarynC10MarynC10 Alum Member
    10 karma

also looking at uva and taking the August 24 test! also, a nontraditional applicant! We can do it!

• mm_aa205mm_aa205 Core Member
    29 karma