Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do i improve timing?

palmasi13palmasi13 Alum Member
in Logic Games 13 karma
I'm having the hardest time improving my timing on games. I can get the questions right but I can't do them fast enough to finish all four games-- on average I only get through 3 games. I'm doing my practice using Jy's method -- I can improve my timing on games that I've done over again. But I can't improve my timing on games I've never done before. Any tips are greatly appreciated.

Comments

• R MirandaR Miranda Member
    41 karma
    I have a timing problem too - but it's more of anxiety then anything else, I think. If I don't time myself I do okay, but if I time myself I'm a lot slower and have to read things twice.
  • Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27829 karma
    How many games have you fool proofed @palmasi13 ? And once you've mastered a game, do you have a system for returning to games to reinforce them? Once I've mastered a game I do it again in one day, one week, and one month. The repeats are really helpful.

That's actually a really common phenomenon @robert.d.miranda . You're rushing. Things get weird when you rush. You miss things you shouldn't and you lose time. It's important to be able to relax under time. You want to train your natural pace to where it's under 35 minutes. This is why training with a stopwatch rather than a timer is so important. Ultimately, speed comes from mastery of the material. So just keep reinforcing the curriculum, and keep drilling those games. Once you've mastered the concepts, the speed will come.
  • danielznelsondanielznelson Alum Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    4181 karma