Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Possible Diversity Statement

danielznelsondanielznelson Alum Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
in General 4181 karma
The consensus is that just about everyone is able to come up with a topic that warrants a diversity statement. In only rare cases is there a cookie cutter profile that just doesn't have a single iota of diversity in its repertoire. I am all but thoroughly convinced that I am one of those rare cases and I suppose I could ironically be diverse in this sense. But I was a first-gen college graduate; my dad tried college before having to drop out a semester later due to finances. My mom went to adult college when I was a pre-teen but never finished. I'm the oldest in my family and was the first of anyone in my family to graduate, though my younger sister did graduate the following year.

I did not have any financial issues during college, nor did I have any upon graduating. Getting into college wasn't a struggle for me like it was for my parents. Both my mom and dad clearly wanted their kids to attend college and to in general live a life that they were unable to live.

While I was fortunate enough to practically trip and fall into a 4-year undergraduate program, I definitely viewed myself and my potential in a harmful light. My mentality throughout high school and throughout most of college was that I obviously wasn't a genius; therefore, I shouldn't bother striving to achieve a 4.0 or to stand out from the rest, and I think being a first-gen graduate played a significant role in this. There are of course more details to this than just that, but what do you all think of me having been a first-gen graduate, albeit an unremarkable one? Is this workable for a diversity statement, or am I stretching way too far here?

Comments

• stepharizonastepharizona Alum Member
    3197 karma
    Not all, I think @"Nicole Hopkins" might be able to chime in here.