Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GPA after Admission

ofili.lillyofili.lilly Free Trial Member
in General 42 karma

Do most schools care about your undergrad GPA after admission? I'm in my last semester of undergrad, and of course I don't plan on bombing my last semester, but I was wondering if schools care about the GPA on your final transcript.

Comments

• jpetersyvrjpetersyvr Alum Member
    41 karma

My knowledge is fairly specific to Canadian law schools, though I believe it holds true to American schools as well. Each school will compute your GPA according to their own parameters to provide you with a cumulative GPA. Some schools drop a set number of your lowest grades, for example. This GPA, along with your LSAT score, is the most important metric used to evaluate prospective students. You can always speak with the admissions office of the school(s) you're planning to attend- personal experience tells me they're very helpful and happy to respond. Hope that helps!

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma

@"ofili.lilly" said:
    Do most schools care about your undergrad GPA after admission? I'm in my last semester of undergrad, and of course I don't plan on bombing my last semester, but I was wondering if schools care about the GPA on your final transcript.

Yes, to a degree. Unless something drastic happens, I doubt they would rescind an offer of admission. But I've seen with multiple schools that you must turn in your final transcript. They want to know the final GPA. Keep those grades up! ;)

• Seeking PerfectionSeeking Perfection Alum Member
    4423 karma

They care since it can alter their ranking. They get ranked based on your final GPA not the one they see when they admit you. This is probably another reason why they tend to favor applicants with a little bit of work experience. Their GPAs are locked in rather than uncertain.