Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Gap Year Decisions

PandaRamenPandaRamen Alum Member
edited April 2018 in Law School Admissions 162 karma

Hi Guys, I need your help and perspectives with my gap year activities and will it affect my school application for 2018-2019

I graduated Chemical Engineering with a lot of projects and grants for research under my belt. I was also in the top 10% of my graduating year. I took the LSAT last December and got a very dissappointing score, partly because I was burnt out by the time I graduated, so I took a long overdue vacation and studying for the LSAT took a back seat. Next thing I knew, I have 2 months to prep for the December test. (This is entirely my fault)... I am prepping for the June but could be adjusted to July or September (I just checked the LSAC website and they will be offering it on these months). I am feeling okay with my PT, Ive only taken 4 after going over the CC. But what I am worried about the lack of progress on my resume...

On top of the statement above, I havent worked after graduating due to several ( I guess, common) issues. We had to move after my December LSAT and I am applying to law firms even as an IP assistant, but it seems like my degree is close to worthless in law firms. Also, I have been trying to juggle studying for the LSAT 6+ hrs per day, taking care of our son, and looking for a house (currently renting right now). Although, I am in the process of volunteering for Women Shelter I am just worried that admission will see a flaw, even with a decent LSAT and GPA but long gap... Any ideas on how this will be perceived by admission? and what to do about it?

I will be looking for a full time job either in Law, Science, or be a full time volunteer at the shelters AFTER the LSAT

Comments

• OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member
    2531 karma