Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Fine arts major with no GPA...

edited April 2018 in Law School Admissions 615 karma

Hello everyone,
I'm an artist. I got my undergrad degree from an art school with P/F system, so I don't have a GPA.
I recently got MFA in sculpture, but want to pursue law. Oh, I do have GPA from grad school. but I also read that GPA from grad schools don't really count?
Because I'm an artist, my resume looks very different from most people, and it's mostly shows and residencies I did with very few work experiences, mainly as a designer and art instructor.
How will this affect my chances with t14 schools? I see that GPA and LSAT score are the most important factors in the admissions, but I don't have a GPA... and I feel like my resume doesn't reflect some of the qualities the schools might look for in an applicant, whatever that quality is.
Heeeeelp...

Comments

• LindsMitchLindsMitch Alum Member
    589 karma

GPA or no GPA, getting into a T14 is typically going to require a pretty solid LSAT score. I would say that should be your primary focus at this point.

I think law schools just want to know that you are capable of performing at a high level and will be successful in the classroom. Because you don't have a GPA, this may be a little harder to show but not impossible. You are going to need stellar recommendations from professors you've worked with closely and I also think it will be key to write a personal statement that explains this intersection of interests between art and law.

• studyingandrestudyingstudyingandrestudying Core Member
    5254 karma

Law schools like to see applications from a variety of fields. You're right that the grad GPA doesn't count for your LSAC GPA, but the schools will definitely see and consider it. If you haven't done this yet, you'll also want to take a look at the numbers for this cycle.

• m.c lshopefulm.c lshopeful Alum Member