Can I hit 168/169/170 on June 11?

Ruby1234Ruby1234 Alum Member
in General 57 karma

I know this is just a snapshot but you all have been so helpful in the past. I started studying in March after a 156 diagnostic. After the CC my PT scores have been: 160, 162, 166, 164, 164, 165. LR is always my worst section with around 10-12 incorrect, spread across question type. RC is best, and LG varies but usually -3 to -5.

Can I hit 168 or even 170 for June 11 (1 month from now)? I work full time and usually do 1 timed section/night, focusing on LR and one PT on the weekend.

Any tips or feedback? Thaank you!

Comments

• Cofife88Cofife88 Member
    edited May 2018 90 karma

The fact that your best section is RC is a good sign. That is usually the slowest to improve. With a month left, I would say that it is a bit risky to expect a 4-6 point jump from your current average, but it has happened before. If you are already registered for the June test, I would just keep practicing and see where your scores end up before the test. If your scores are where you want them to be, sit for the exam. If they aren't, then withdraw and plan on taking the exam when you are more prepared. If you haven't registered yet, I would hold off until at least July to see if your scores begin to improve to a more satisfactory level.

• goingfor99thgoingfor99th Free Trial Member
    edited May 2018 3072 karma

With that many wrong consistently, I would say no. 10-12 incorrect per two LR sections is still a significant amount, as is 3-5 on LG. You can bring those numbers down, obviously, but I'm not sure how much progress you can achieve in one month.

How do you drill LR? How do you approach LG? Do you have individual strategies for each question type/game type? At the very least, I would begin to drill LR question types you miss most often, in order of decreasing frequency on an average exam.

Are you good under time? Do you feel anxiety when you test? Do you skip around at all?