Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Low/Mid 160s vs Cancel for T14

DanDanDan-1DanDanDan-1 Core Member
edited June 2018 in General 8 karma

I started studying for the LSAT in early March and just recently took the international June LSAT. In the weeks leading up to the test, I consistently PTed around 168-171 (worst at 167, best at 176). During the real test, however, I panicked on the reading section and ended up completely guessing about 8 questions. Reading is already my worst section, so, if I take into consideration my usual scores in each section, I think I would get around 162-165 for this exam.

If I am considering only the T14 schools, would it be better for me to cancel this score and attempt 170+ on the next exam or just accept a low/mid-160s score and then attempt a 170+?

It's an undisclosed test, so I really wouldn't learn anything new about my performance by keeping the score. Canceling, on the other hand, already seems like an admission of failure. I'm not sure what the law schools would think. What do you guys think?

Comments

• Accounts PlayableAccounts Playable Live Sage
    edited June 2018 3107 karma

It won't matter. I had a 161 on my first take and 174 on my subsequent take. I'm attending Harvard this fall and was admitted to every T14 (plus money) except Stanford (WL) and Yale. I only wrote an addendum to UChicago since they explicitly asked for one, and I kept it to three sentences.

Unless you think your score is sub 150 or something (which you don't), I don't think it's ever wise to cancel. Plus, you just never know...I had a tutoring client think he scored in the 150s but he ended up with a 170. The exam is a sunk cost at this point, so you may as well see what your score was.

• CantStopWontStopCantStopWontStop Alum Member
    1270 karma